Tuesday, August 15, 2006

Happy Independence to all

India's flag was adopted on July 22, 1947, after India became independent from Great Britain. The flag was based upon the design of the flag of the Indian National Congress.
The Indian flag has three equal horizontal bars (saffron, white and green) with a blue Dharma Chakra (the wheel of law) in the center. The wheel has 24 spokes, representing the 24 hours in a day (at the end of each spoke is a dark blue half-moon).
The orange (deep saffron) symbolizes courage and sacrifice (saffron is the sacred color of Hinduism). The white stands for peace, unity and truth. The green stands for faith (Islam) and fertility. The blue symbolizes the sky and the ocean. The height of this flag is two-thirds the width.
Jai Hind


KrishnaArjuna said...

Nice post Smitha!

Smitha said...

Thanks Arjuna.